Commissioner Bret Walker SC

Commissioner Bret Walker SC was admitted to the NSW Bar in 1979, and appointed Senior Counsel in 1993.

Mr Walker was a Member of the Board of Governors of the Law Foundation of NSW from 1993 to 2000, President of the Law Council of Australia from 1997 to 1998, and President of the NSW Bar Association from 2001 to 2003. He was the Editor of the NSW Law Reports from 2006 to 2018, and is a Foundation Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law.

From 2011 until 2014, Mr Walker was the Independent National Security Legislation Monitor.

He has been appointed a Commissioner to many Inquiries, including:

  • The Inquiry into practices of Forensic Medicine at Glebe (2001).
  • The Special Commission of Inquiry into Campbelltown and Camden Hospitals (2003-4)
  • The Inquiry under s.31 of the Casino Control Act into the suitability of the Casino Operator (2006-7)
  • The Special Commission of Inquiry into Sydney Ferries (2007)

From January 2018 until February 2019, Mr Walker was the Royal Commissioner for the Murray Darling Basin Royal Commission.

Among his other interests outside of law, Mr Walker was a Board Member of the Sydney Writers’ Festival from 2000-2010, and Chairman of the Red Room Company from 2010-2018.

Counsel assisting

  • Richard Beasley SC
  • Nicolas Kirby

Senior Solicitor Assisting

  • Jennifer Hoy